What we do

What


Developments in technology and innovation mean that government and citizens can interact like never before.

Globally, citizens have fast-increasing access to tools that enable them to monitor government performance and express their views on government performance in real time.

Making All Voices Count is about seizing this moment to promote transparency, fight corruption, empower citizens, and harness the power of new technologies to make government more effective and accountable.

 

How


By making grants to support innovation and technology that has the potential to support better governance.

Through research that helps to build a base of evidence about what works and why in using innovation for accountable governance.

Working with policy makers, opinion formers and influencers to ensure that our learning has impact across the sector.

 

Where


Making All Voices Count works in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Ghana, Mozambique, South Africa, Nigeria, Liberia, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Indonesia and The Philippines.

 

Who


The programme is a partnership between three organisations:

  • Hivos: supporting people who are systematically blocked from rights, opportunities and resources
  • Ushahidi: pioneering technology-for-development organisation
  • Institute for Development Studies (IDS): global institution for development research, teaching and learning, and impact and communications, based at the University of Sussex in the UK

Making All Voices Count is supported by four donors: DFID, USAID, Sida, and the Omidyar Network (ON)

Esther Getrude Lungahi

Communications Manager
elungahi@hivos.org
Kenya

Julia Kiveu

Finance Manager
jkiveu@hivos.org
Kenya

Moses Kola

Finance Officer
mkola@hivos.org
Kenya

Liz Makimaro

Programme Assistant
emakimaro@hivos.org
Kenya

Karen Brock

Research Communication Officer
k.brock@ids.ac.uk

Francesca Feruglio

Research Officer
f.feruglio@ids.ac.uk

Hannah Hudson

Programme Officer
h.hudson2@ids.ac.uk

Daniela Costa

Country Programmes Manager
dcosta@hivos.org
Kenya

Anastasia-Areti Gavrili

Communications Officer
agavrili@hivos.org

Vivien Suerte-Cortez

Country Engagement Developer
vsuerte@hivos.org
The Philippines

Sachibu Mohammed

Country Engagement Developer
smohammed@hivos.org
Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria

Sanne van den Berg

Country Engagement Developer
svandenberg@hivos.org
Tanzania and Uganda

Dr Fletcher Tembo

Programme Director
ftembo@hivos.org

Gontse Legong

Programme Officer
glegong@hivos.org
South Africa

Deborah Byrne

Country Engagement Developer
dbyrne@hivos.org
South Africa

Ria Ernunsari

Country Engagement Developer
rernunsari@hivos.org
Indonesia

Angela Kabari

Capacity Development Officer
akabari@ushahidi.com

Catherine Setchell

Research Communications Officer (Maternity Leave)
C.Setchell2@ids.ac.uk

Ciana-Marie Pegus

Research Officer
c.pegus@ids.ac.uk

Linda Kamau

Innovation &Technology Officer
linda@ushahidi.com

Staicy Gitau

South to South Lab Officer
staicy@ushahidi.com

Declan Ottaro

Innovation Component Coordinator
declan@ushahidi.com

Monica Nthiga

South to South Lab Manager (Maternity Leave)
monica@ushahidi.com

Dr Rosemary McGee

Research & Evidence Coordinator
R.McGee@ids.ac.uk

Dr Alison Ashlin

Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Manager
a.ashlin@ids.ac.uk

Duncan Edwards

Research, Evidence and Learning Programme Manager
d.edwards@ids.ac.uk

Jane Machira

Junior Programme Officer
jmachira@hivos.or.ke

Daudi Were

Strategic Advisor
dwere@ushahidi.com